Sydney Airport Message Board Sydney Airport Message Board  

Go Back   Sydney Airport Message Board > Spotting and Movements > Radar Spotting

Old 18th June 2011, 01:47 PM
Prolific Member

Location: Sydney's Eastern Suburbs - View From Bondi To Jibbon Point And Bravo 10 South
Default iPad FlightRadar24 Review

I have been using FlightRadar24 for a couple of months now on an iPad 2 and have been very impressed with the application. With a 3G iPad it means you have access to realtime flight information where ever you are, and for the purchase price of $3.99 it is definitely a bargain aviation application. If you are purchasing an iPad 2, you need to be careful when selecting Wireless only or Wireless/3G models, as i believe the GPS functionality is part of the 3G module, so not available on the Wireless only models. More and more applications are using the "Current Location" option and GPS functions.

I like to keep an eye on the QF flights over the Middle East and Europe, and watch the action around some of the busy airports like Heathrow. Aircraft tracking coverage is good over Europe, the Middle East, Japan and Australia, with some activity in the USA, Hong Kong, Kuala Lumpur, Male, Chennai, Sri Lanka, and a few other locations.

This is the main screen where you can tap on any aircraft to display a popup with Flight Number, Altitude and Speed. You can then tap on a details button to display the full flight information, and image if available, or tap on a track button to display the aircraft's track. You can use all the normal iPad screen functions like dragging the map or pinch an stretch to zoom in or out.

The settings menu has plenty of options, including the map type which can be Standard, Satellite of Hybrid, and displaying Airports that you can tap on for details.