Sydney Airport Message Board Sydney Airport Message Board  

Go Back   Sydney Airport Message Board > Aviation Industry News and Discussion > Australia and New Zealand Industry
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 7th March 2016, 11:55 AM

Default Working in ground operations (Sydney)

Hello aviation enthusiasts,

My name's Tara and it is my dream to work as ground crew in Sydney. I currently work as a vehicle painter at a prestige smash repairs, however, this is not something I'm passionate about.

Everyone who knows me or has ever known me are all too aware of my passion for aviation. I'm am however finding it extremely difficult to break into the industry.

I was fortunate enough to meet the manager of all cabin crew (Sydney based) of virgin Australia and she called me in for a meeting to discuss getting me into a customer service role and moving my way on from there. Unfortunately though she was let go after her probation period as she musnt have been quite what virgin were looking for.

This was my best chance gone. We hadn't commenced interviewing and our meeting was only 'off the record' at the time. She did say that Virgin recruit in batches and the next was scheduled for March 2016.

Does anyone work for virgin or any other airline for that matter that may have some information about this and the processes involved. I would be so great full for ANY information as I'm desperate to follow my dreams and work around my beloved planes.

Thank you for reading this message.

Tara.
Old 7th March 2016, 12:39 PM
Prolific Member

Hi Tara

Best of luck in your search for an aviation role. In your brief post, you have not mentioned what you have been doing to demonstrate your passion, other than a brief meeting with a Virgin staffer.