Sydney Airport Message Board Sydney Airport Message Board  

Go Back   Sydney Airport Message Board > Spotting and Movements > Spotting and Movements
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 31st October 2014, 07:19 AM

Default British spotter 1st time in Sydney advice please

Hi guys I am British spotter and will be visiting Sydney for a couple of weeks in April 2016. Itss while away but I am looking for some general advice for planning purposes as its my first time in Aus. I am happy with there being plenty of info about SYD but its the small fields I am interested in.
What is the general attitude to airside access at Bankstown and Camden? I will be photographing everything and would love some airside access, will also take numbers.
Also planning trips to Richmond, and a few days at Williamstown and then down to Nowra. Not totally spotting as I will have the Mrs with me.Again what the the RAAF/RAN attitude to spotting from the fence? Any out of the way places that I have not noticed on google earth?
My main interests are classic 30-50's aircraft Daks, Tiger Moths, old Cessnas and Pipers etc. Then airliners, bizjets, military and other GA.

thanks

Rob

www.farnboroughspotters.com
Old 31st October 2014, 12:47 PM
Prolific Member

Rob,

You might want to add Canberra with the Australian War Memorial to your list.

They have Treloar Annex which has many a/c stored incl. C-47, Meteor....
Old 31st October 2014, 03:11 PM
Prolific Member

Temora and HARS at Wollongong are other worthwhile ventures too.
Old 31st October 2014, 04:22 PM
Prolific Member

Should there be a permanent thread (sticky) for this type of info.

ie: Aviation Sites around Sydney & NSW
Old 31st October 2014, 04:48 PM
Prolific Member

Location: Sydney's Eastern Suburbs - View From Bondi To Jibbon Point And Bravo 10 South